Shame = Death: HIV/AIDS Complacency in the Gay Community

I can remember sitting in health class when I was 14, watching a video about AIDS. It was a humid 90 degrees outside, and there was no air conditioning in the building. An image of a man, no more than 100 pounds and covered in lesions, appeared on the screen, and I suddenly felt nauseated. I broke out into a sweat and watched it pool into a tiny puddle on the surface of my desk. I went to the boys’ room and stood at the sink, looking at myself in the mirror. Growing up in the ’90s, we were taught that sex equaled death. Specifically, gay sex equaled death. And to my fragile, impressionable young mind, that meant being gay equaled death, too. When you believe death and disease are your destiny, what’s to stop you from being promiscuous, doing drugs, or even taking your own life?

Of course, it gets better. And it did, at least for me. But as an adult, I encounter younger gay men who didn’t grow up seeing the things my generation saw. So much has changed in just a few short years. HIV is no longer a death sentence; it’s a “manageable condition.” And the number of gay men practicing unsafe sex, out of recklessness, complacency, or even deliberate self-injury, continues to grow. The CDC reports that infection rates among men who have sex with men, particularly blacks and Hispanics, are on the rise. READ MORE 

One response to “Shame = Death: HIV/AIDS Complacency in the Gay Community

  1. When I came out in 1999 the gay community was still recovering from the shock of all the deaths of the two previous decades but on the other hand we knew aids was no longer a death sentence, so concern was dwindling. I was sexually naive then and somewhat irresponsible. I can only put down never having gotten an std in my early days to the people who had lived through the carnage and were there to tap me on the shoulder and hand me a condom. Of course my responsibility came once I met someone who lives with aids and has to confront its pitfalls.
    There’s a very interesting project by Tomas Mournian and Ramon del Barrio that hopes to bring the discussion of sex and aids back to the table. It’s called Natural Born Hooker : http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/191970999/natural-born-hooker-a-play-by-konrad-product

Leave a comment